Board of Trustees

Green Hedges School is a non-profit organization, managed by a Board of Trustees. The Board is comprised of between 12 – 18 members. It strives to reflect diversity and its members may include alumni, current parents, past parents, individuals from the broader community, and educators from other area schools, who all bring particular expertise and perspective.

The Board is responsible for ensuring that the School is operating in accordance with its mission statement. It is also responsible for ensuring the long-term viability of the School, and for hiring and overseeing the performance of the Head of School. The day-to-day operations of the School are the responsibility of the Head.

Members may serve two (2) three-year terms. The Board’s Committee on Trustees selects Board candidates based on a set of specific criteria and presents a slate to the full Board for election in the spring. The full Board meets approximately eight times over the course of the school year.

Committees of the Board of Trustees currently include the Executive, Finance, Building and Grounds, Advancement, Committee on Trustees, and Strategic Planning. In any given year task forces may be created to address other strategic goals.

The GHS Board conducts its operations in accordance with the Principles of Good Practice promulgated by the National Association of Independent Schools. The Board’s operations are also reviewed as part of periodic assessments conducted by the Virginia Association of Independent Schools.

2018-2019 Board of Trustees


Heidi Everett


Julie Holmes


Carolyn Blocher


Mike Shaw


Jeremy J. Biggs ’98
Craig Gavin
Lisa Gibb
Robert E. Gregg III (Ex-Officio, Head of School)
Gharun Hester
Blake Kohn
Taseen Mir
Gloria Runyon
Deirdre Shaughnessy
Tom Velarde
Kyle Welch